Resolution to Recognize and Commend CSU Campus Mutual Aid and Assistance, First Responders, and Campus Emergency Responders in the Sonoma Fire Emergency


RESOLVED: That the Academic Senate of the California State University (ASCSU) recognize that the Sonoma State University community experienced the unprecedented devastation of the October 2017 fires, including members of the SSU community who lost family members or their homes in the fires; and be it further

RESOLVED: That the ASCSU welcome the opportunity to recognize those brave and tireless individuals who contributed skills, knowledge, time, and energy to the campus and community, among whom were first responders from numerous agencies and
jurisdictions, including over 10,000 firefighters from around the nation and abroad, personnel from sister CSU Campuses, and countless volunteers worked to ensure the safety of SSU students, employees, and community; and be it further

RESOLVED: That the ASCSU commend the SSU response team and other trained campus personnel, who along with responders from Cal Maritime, Chico, Fresno, Humboldt State, Monterey Bay, Northridge, Sacramento, San Francisco State, San Jose State, San Luis Obispo, San Marcos, Stanislaus, and the Chancellor's Office, who worked in shifts around the clock to safeguard the campus community through the Emergency Operations Center and who continue to support the campus in the aftermath in spite of numerous challenges; and be it further

RESOLVED: That the ASCSU recognize and commend the service so generously contributed during the disaster by all those who aided in keeping the campus and campus community safe during the natural disaster; and be it further

RESOLVED: That the ASCSU distribute this resolution to the CSU Board of Trustees, CSU Chancellor, CSU campus Presidents, CSU campus Senate Chairs, CSU Provosts/Vice Presidents of Academic Affairs, California Faculty Association (CFA), California
State Student Association (CSSA), Emeritus and Retired Faculty Association (ERFA), Assembly members Marc Levine, Cecilia Aguiar-Curry, Devon Mathis, Jose Medina, and Catharine Baker, Senators Mike McGuire and Bill Dodd.


Approved by Acclamation –  November 2-3, 2017



Academic Senate Home | Calendar | Search Resolutions | Contact Us | Helpful Links