Explore The System


Responsibility for the CSU is vested in a 25-member Board of Trustees, the majority of whom are appointed by the governor to eight-year terms. Faculty, alumni and two student trustees serve two-year terms. The trustees appoint the chancellor, who is the system’s chief executive officer, and the presidents, who are the chief executive officers on their respective campuses and who report to the chancellor.

The trustees, chancellor and presidents develop systemwide policy, with campus implementation taking place through broadly based consultative procedures. The Office of the Chancellor secures the CSU general fund and capital outlay budgets and coordinates systemwide efforts in areas such as technology, academic affairs, business affairs, institutional research, physical plant development, employee relations, state and federal governmental affairs, legal affairs, university advancement, and public affairs. Learn more about CSU leadership below.