Wang Awards

The Wang Family Excellence Award

The Wang award was established in fall 1998 when then-Trustee Stanley T. Wang provided $1 million to reward outstanding faculty and administrators. The award is designed to "celebrate those CSU faculty and administrators who through extraordinary commitment and dedication have distinguished themselves by exemplary contributions and achievements in their academic disciplines and areas of assignment." Annually, during a 10 year-period, four faculty and one administrator throughout the CSU system will receive $20,000 awards.

2008 Wang Award Recipients
  • Dr. Stella Ting-Toomey
    California State University, Fullerton
    Visual and Performing Arts and Letters
  • Dr. Stuart S. Sumida
    California State University, San Bernardino
    Natural Sciences, Mathematical and Computer Sciences and Engineering
  • Dr. Jane S. Lopus
    California State University, East Bay
    Social and Behavioral Sciences and Public Service
  • Dr. Zvi Drezner
    California State University, Fullerton
    Education, and Professional and Applied Sciences
  • Dr. Wm. Gregory Sawyer
    California State University, Channel Islands

Download 2008 Wang Awards brochure » (.pdf)