CSU Scholarship Programs

The California State University Foundation works with donors interested in funding scholarship opportunities on a systemwide or multi-campus basis. Currently, the CSU Foundation administers over $10 million in annual and endowed scholarships. These funds are distributed in cooperation with the campus Financial Aid offices.

Inquiries regarding the student scholarships should be directed to the Financial Aid Office at the university the student is attending. Each campus maintains a list of available scholarships including selection criteria and application procedures for the following scholarships:

CSU Trustees' Award for Outstanding Achievement
Two scholarships of $10,000, three scholarships of $6,000, one scholarship of $4,000 and seventeen $3,000 awards recognize students who have demonstrated financial need, experienced personal hardships, and have attributes of merit, including superior academic performance, exemplary community service, and significant personal achievements. The awards are funded by an endowment from the William Randolph Hearst Foundation, individual contributions from the CSU Board of Trustees, and additional funding from the Haworth Family Trust. The recipients of the $10,000 scholarships, designated for the highest ranked students in the review process, are named the Trustee Emeritus Ali C. Razi Scholars. The recipients of two of the $6,000 scholarships, designated for the students who have given the most to his or her home, university or global community, are named the Trustee Emeritus Murray L. Galinson Scholars.  The recipient of a $6,000 scholarship, designated for the student who exemplifies significant achievement both academically and in service to the community, is named the CSU Foundation Board of Governors’ Scholar, sponsored by Ronald R. Barhorst.  The recipient of the $4,000 scholarship, designated for the student representing San Jose State University, is named the Trustee William Hauck Scholar.  Campus Presidents nominate one recipient per campus.

Gregson Bautzer University Fund
Established in 1991 by Mrs. Nicola D. Bautzer, this scholarship is open only to incoming freshman students who have graduated from the California Academy of Mathematics and Science and who are continuing their education at one of the California State University campuses. The scholarship recipients are selected by the California Academy of Mathematics and Science, and awarded $2,000 per year for four years.

Glenn and Dorothy Dumke Fellowship
One $1,100 fellowship is awarded each year to a CSU graduate student at any campus pursuing a research project using the CSU archives in the area of public policy, American history, economics, archival management, or government. This fellowship was established in honor of the late Chancellor Emeritus Glenn S. Dumke and his wife, Dorothy. Dr. Dumke was Chancellor of the California State University from 1962 to 1982. The Dumke Fellowship is not being offered the 2010/2011 academic year.

Nathaniel R. and Valerie Dumont Scholarship
Six $4,000 scholarships are available to help meet the financial needs of students, particularly those with visual and physical impairments. Eligibility is limited to students attending CSU Dominguez Hills, CSU Long Beach, CSU Los Angeles and CSU Northridge.

California Society of Municipal Finance Officers
Robert M. Odell Endowed Scholarship in Public Administration

The California Society of Municipal Finance Officers established the Robert M. Odell endowed scholarship fund in April 1987 to honor the former city treasurer of Los Angeles. Four scholarships of $1,600 are awarded on a rotational basis to the seventeen campuses offering degree programs in public administration and alternate between northern and southern geographic regions of California.

Wilson C. Riles Education Scholarship
Five scholarships of $1,000 are available for first generation college students enrolled in a CSU teaching credential program. The scholarship honors Dr. Wilson C. Riles, who was the first elected African American State Superintendent of Schools in the United States. The scholarships rotate between all 23 campuses on an alphabetical basis.

Angelina Aliberti Ruggie and Lawrence L. Ruggie Endowed Scholarship
Applicants must demonstrate financial need and be satisfactorily pursuing a course of study in the humanities, including law and the field of social work, but excluding military sciences. Scholarships are awarded on a rotational basis to all 23 campuses. Two $1,300 scholarships are awarded.

Dale M. Schoettler Scholarship for Visually Impaired Students
The $6,000 award provides assistance for full-time students at CSU campuses who are declared legally blind. CSU undergraduates or graduate students in any major field are eligible with a minimum cumulative GPA of 2.8 on a 4.0 scale. The estate of Dale M. Schoettler, himself a successful businessman who was blind, funds these scholarships. The Financial Aid office on each campus recommends the recipients per campus.

Content Contact:
Anne Gillespie Brown
(562) 951-4768
Request content in an alternate format
Technical Contact:
Tell us about a Web Accessibility problem

Last Updated: September 09, 2013