Integrated CSU Administrative Manual

CSU POLICY

--INACTIVE HISTORICAL POLICY--

Section:  GENERAL ACCOUNTING

Section 3000 Policies

Policy Number:  3552.01

Policy Title: Cost Recovery

Policy Effective Date: April 1, 2011

Last Revision Date: April 1, 2011
(see revision history)

POLICY OBJECTIVE

It is the policy of the California State University (CSU) to recover costs incurred in providing services, products and facilities to other funds, auxiliary organizations and system headquarters. Both direct and indirect costs must be recovered. Recovery of direct costs must be based on actual costs incurred. Recovery of indirect costs must be based on an allocation plan approved annually by the Campus Chief Financial Officer (CFO). Each campus must prepare procedures that implement this policy.


POLICY STATEMENT

The cost allocation plan:

  • Must describe the methodology used to identify indirect costs subject to recovery and the basis for allocation.
  • The plan should be allocating expenses to those areas that receive indirect benefits.
  • Must identify how costs will be recovered. As a result of a(n):
    • cash payment
    • exchange of value
    • permanent budget transfer

Recovered costs must be recorded such that intra-agency and inter-agency transactions can be eliminated for purposes of campus and CSU GAAP financial statements. 

Benjamin F. Quillian
Executive Vice-Chancellor/Chief Financial Officer

Approved: February 7, 2011

APPLICABILITY AND AREAS OF RESPONSIBILITY

 

REVISION HISTORY

 

RESOURCES AND REFERENCE MATERIALS

Useful Guidelines:

Related Principles:

 

Sound Business Practices:

Laws, State Codes, Regulations and Mandates:

COGNIZANT OFFICE(S)

CO Manager:

Ms. Kelly Cox
Senior Accounting Manager, Accounting Department
CSU Office of the Chancellor
Kcox@calstate.edu


Subject Expert:

 

Affinity Group:

Ms. Lily Wang

lwang@calstate.edu

Ms. Sherry Pickering

spickering@calstate.edu

Mr. John Hayes

john.hayes@sonoma.edu

Mr. Chris Bronsdon

cbronsdo@mail.sdsu.edu

Ms. Sharon Taylor

sataylor@csulb.edu

Mr. Darwin Labordo

dlabordo@csupomona.edu

Feedback/Questions/Comments