Public Affairs

Carter Reelected Chair of CSU Board of Trustees

May 11, 2011

At Tuesday's California State University Board of Trustees meeting, the trustees announced the re-election of Dr. Herbert L. Carter as Board Chair.

Carter, a CSU trustee since 2004 who has also served the university in various capacities for the past four decades, was re-appointed to the Board by Governor Jerry Brown on April 29.

The trustees also announced the re-election of Bob Linscheid, a trustee since 2005, as Vice Chair.

CSU Trustee Bob Linscheid with CSU Student Trustee Nicole AndersonAdditionally, Linscheid was chosen by the California State Student Association as the Trustee of the Year.

Other CSSA annual awardees included:

  • John Welty, Fresno State president, as the Robert A. Maxson President of the Year
  • Stan Hebert III, CSU East Bay associate vice president for Student Affairs, as the Administrator of the Year
  • Themis Pantos, San José State chair of Banking and Financial Services, for Faculty Excellence in Advising
  • Nanda Ganesan, Cal State L.A. professor of information systems, for Faculty Innovation in Academic Technology

CSSA also recognized the outstanding work of Nicole Anderson, who completed her two-year term as CSU student trustee.