Public Affairs

Chancellor Charles Reed Wins 2012 TIAA-CREF Hesburgh Award for Leadership Excellence

March 13, 2012

Gene Flood, Executive Vice President and President of Diversified Financial Services at TIAA-CREF, present CSU Chancellor Charles B. Reed with the Hesburgh Award for Leadership Excellence. The TIAA-CREF Institute announced Dr. Charles B. Reed, chancellor of the California State University system, and Dr. Eduardo J. Padrón, president of Miami Dade College, as the 2012 winners of the TIAA-CREF Hesburgh Award for Leadership Excellence. TIAA-CREF bestowed this honor yesterday at the American Council on Education’s (ACE) 2012 Annual Meeting held in Los Angeles.

The TIAA-CREF Hesburgh Award is one of the most prestigious honors in academic stewardship and is named in honor of the Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C., president emeritus of the University of Notre Dame, nationally renowned educator and world humanitarian. Drs. Reed and Padrón were chosen by an independent panel of judges based on their excellence in higher education leadership.

“Dr. Reed’s and Dr. Padrón’s remarkable, collaborative leadership styles reinforce the need to build bridges both within an institution and throughout the surrounding community,” said Stephanie Bell-Rose, managing director and head of the TIAA-CREF Institute. “Their abilities to bring innovative vision to their roles, positively impacting higher education across the nation, make them model Hesburgh Award winners.”

In deciding the award, the judges cited Chancellor Reed’s commitment to students that guides his work as chancellor of CSU, where he has successfully steered the system’s 23 campuses through state budget cuts while simultaneously meeting the complex demands of increasing enrollment. In addition, they highlighted Chancellor Reed's efforts to build collaborative partnerships and award-winning outreach programs – particularly those dedicated to students from underserved backgrounds – that have received national acclaim. They also acknowledged his support of a number of multi-campus initiatives to improve research and instruction, and benefit local businesses and communities.

“This award is especially meaningful as it reflects the important role higher education plays in providing students with opportunities for a better life,” said Chancellor Reed. “Father Hesburgh's ideals of the transforming power of education remain particularly relevant for students, and it is an extraordinary honor to be the recipient of an award in recognition of his vision.”

Chancellor Reed plans to donate the $20,000 award from the Hesburgh Award to the William Randolph Hearst CSU Trustee’s Scholarship fund. He and his wife Cathy have donated almost $90,000 to the scholarship fund since 1998.

In addition, Cal State L.A. President James M. Rosser was awarded the 2012 Reginald Wilson Diversity Leadership Award by the American Council on Education (ACE) for his outstanding contributions and commitment to diversity in higher education.

San Francisco State President Robert A. Corrigan has been selected to receive Diverse magazine’s Dr. John Hope Franklin Award. The award is bestowed annually to recognize individuals and organizations for excellence in higher education.