Public Affairs


Governor Gray Davis, the State Senate and Assembly today honored some of the best and brightest teachers in California for their role as "inspirational role models" for their students. The Governor proclaimed February 7, 2000 as CSU Celebrating Teachers Day in California and the Assembly and Senate applauded 22 of the state's most talented and committed teachers on the floor of each House with Legislative Resolutions.

CSU Celebrating Teachers, which is sponsored by California State University (CSU) and the CSU Alumni Council, recognized 22 alumni teachers--one from each CSU campus--who have demonstrated the highest level of dedication to the teaching profession. They were chosen by each CSU campus, based on factors including innovative teaching methods, commitment to their students and leadership in mentoring future teachers.

California State University Chancellor Charles B. Reed, who was in Sacramento for the event said, "Studies have shown there is no more important factor in students success than the quality of teachers in the classroom. The CSU educates more than 60% of the teachers in the State and more than 10% nationally. The 22 exceptional teachers who were honored in Sacramento today are the cream of the CSU crop. Their expertise and passion for teaching will surely inspire a generation of students."

Governor Davis in his proclamation wrote, "...the dedicated professionals who teach in our public schools perform one of the most important services in California ... as inspirational role models, teachers help their students reach higher challenges and higher academic expectations, preparing them for success in the future." First Lady Sharon Davis, the featured speaker at the luncheon held for the honorees, has made quality public education one of her top priorities.

It is estimated California will need as many as 300,000 new teachers in the next ten years–a challenging task. Among other positive steps, higher education in California responded to this challenge by creating CalTeach — a one stop information, recruitment and referral center —administered by the CSU in conjunction with the University of California, independent colleges and universities, the Commission on Teacher Credentialing and the State Department of Education. CalTeach can be reached by calling toll-free 1-888-CalTeach or by logging onto the internet at

Corporate sponsors Aetna Financial Services and Southwest Airlines facilitated today's event by underwriting the airfare, substitute teachers, the luncheon and related costs. Also participating is 3Com Corporation.

A list of the recipients follows:

CSU Bakersfield: Bonnie Burrows, Tevis Junior High School

CSU Chico: Vicki Silva ,Wyandotte Elementary School

CSU Dominguez Hills: Marjorie Bornyasz, Temecula Valley High School

CSU Fresno: Stephen Bock, Wilson Elementary School

CSU Fullerton: Shauhna Feitlin, Sierra Vista Elementary School

CSU Hayward: Ursula Sexton, Green Valley Elementary School

Humboldt State: Lucy Quinby, Eureka High School

CSU Long Beach: Cedric Anderson, Rosewood Community Education Center

CSU Los Angeles: Myra LeBendig, Foshay Learning Center

Maritime Academy: Lily Towata, Admiral Farragut Elementary School

CSU Monterey Bay: Melissa Manning, Salsipuedes Elementary School

CSU Northridge: Alison Hunsaker, Castaic Middle School

Cal Poly Pomona: Debby Ford, El Toro High School

CSU Sacramento: Patty (Vaughn) Waggoner-Yamat, Bryte Elementary School

CSU San Bernardino: Lois Clark, Mission Middle School

San Diego State: Patrick Pierson, Gaspar de Portola Middle School

San Francisco State: Reno Taini , Jefferson Union High School

San Jose State: Kristine Morrella, Abraham Lincoln Academic and Performing Arts Magnet

Cal Poly San Luis Obispo: Nancy Thompson, Coast Union High School

CSU San Marcos: Rick Ausby, Turtleback Elementary School

Sonoma State University: Jane Ginn, Richard Crane Elementary School

CSU Stanislaus: Marie Logan, Maple Learning Complex


February 8, 2000