CSU Media Arts Festival to Honor "Rosebud" Winners, Host Public

(Oct. 28, 2002) -- The 12th Annual Media Arts Festival, an off-spring of the California State University's unique Summer Arts program, will conclude a three-day round of seminars and media events with a free public screening of the best work of its student participants as well as a presentation of its faculty and student Rosebud winners.

CSU Channel Islands will host the festival from Friday, November 8 through Sunday, November 10, 2002. The festival events are primarily geared to help CSU students become better prepared to work in the entertainment and media industries. Expected presenters include George Dibie, National President of the Cinematographers Guild; Anthony LaMolinara, Animation Director for the movie Spider-Man; Tony Award winner Joanna Gleason (currently guest starring on The West Wing); and Emmy Award nominated set designer Keaton Walker.

The free public events include a Friday screening of the work of the student finalists (part one), beginning at 7 p.m., and a Saturday presentation, also beginning at 7 p.m. During the Saturday event, the Festival will present the faculty Rosebud award, followed by a screening of the work of student finalists (part two), and finishing with the presentation of student Rosebud awards. The student award winners, including the "best of show" winner, will receive $500 (and their home department another $250). A wine and cheese reception follows the Saturday evening presentation.

This year's faculty Rosebud Award winner is Professor Jose Sanchez-H., from the Film and Electronic Arts Department at CSU Long Beach. Jose Sanchez-H. is a gifted and respected scholar, filmmaker and professor. A widely-published and award-winning photographer, he is also the author of the seminal textbook, The Art and Politics of Bolivian Cinema, which was nominated for a Theatre Library Association Award, and a film-maker. Two of his well-regarded films, The Delirium and The Road to the Coast, have been featured in numerous film festivals.

CSU Summer Arts established the Media Arts Festival in 1990 to give talented CSU students studying film, video, and new media an opportunity to present their work for critical review. In 2000, the Festival expanded its mission to include helping students to experience the world of the working professional. At the same time, the Festival began to recognize outstanding CSU faculty with a Rosebud award for noteworthy professional accomplishment as well as service to students. Prior honorees include Jack Ofield from San Diego State University (2000), and Alan Bloom from Cal State L.A. (2001).

For more information about the Media Arts Festival, call 562-951-4060, or visit www.calstate.edu/summerarts.

Contact: Colleen Bentley-Adler, (562) 951-4801, cbentley-adler@calstate.edu
Joanne Bartok, Director (562) 951-4060, jbartok@calstate.edu

Error processing SSI file

Last Updated:28 October 2002

Error processing SSI file