First Wang Scholars Named

(July 10, 2002) The California State University has designated the recipients of the first Wang Family Scholarships, which provide students with $4,000 scholarships for study in China and Taiwan.

The China scholarship winners, who will study at Peking University this year, are Eric K. Cheng of CSU Hayward; Songkrant Sanglimsuwan of CSU Northridge; Cindy Y. Ma of CSU Sacramento; Richard L. Augustine, Nolan A. Hebert, Eric M. Lam, and Xingyu Liu of San Francisco State; and Joshua N. Kidwell and Cynthia Wong of San Jose State. The scholarship winners headed for study at National Taiwan University in Taiwan are Michelle Lum of San Jose State and Dominic Yu of San Francisco State.

Former CSU Trustee Stanley T. Wang and his family established the program in November 2000 with a gift of $1.2 million to the CSU. Over the coming decade, the program will fund 200 student scholarships and 40 faculty stipends for study and research in China and Taiwan. The first faculty awards will be announced later this year. For more information, see International Programs website and Wang Family Scholarship announcement.

The California State University is the largest system of senior higher education in the country, with 23 campuses, nearly 400,000 students and 42,000 faculty and staff. Since the system was created in 1961, it has awarded about 2 million degrees. The CSU is renowned for the quality of its teaching and for the job-ready graduates it produces. Its mission is to provide high-quality, affordable education to meet the ever-changing needs of the people of California. With its commitment to excellence, diversity and innovation, the CSU is the university system that is working for California. See for more information.

Contact: Clara Potes-Fellow,, (562) 951-4806

Error processing SSI file

Last Updated: 10 July 2002

Error processing SSI file