CSU Strategic Initiatives

Police Services

Each of the California State University 23 campuses operates a police department, whose peace officers are sworn and certified by the California Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST). Each police/public safety department is charged with maintaining a safe campus environment by enforcing federal and state laws, CSU regulations, and the establishment of crime deterrence and prevention related programs.

The authority to operate a sworn law enforcement agency on each CSU campus and at the Chancellor’s Office is pursuant to § 89560 of the California Education Code and § 830.2 of the California Penal Code.


Last Updated: March 13, 2018