2010-11 Philanthropic Annual Report

Boards of Trustees Recognitions

The CSU Board of Trustees recognized leadership gifts to the university by naming the following academic programs or facilities in 2010-2011.

  • California State University, Channel Islands named The Henry L. “Hank” Lacayo Institute for Workforce and Community Studies. Over half a million dollars have been contributed in recognition of Mr. Lacayo’s lifetime of community service and national leadership as a labor advocate. The institute will enhance opportunities for students engaged in entrepreneurial studies and will address the importance of workforce and community.
  • Honoring its distinguished alumna, California State University, Los Angeles named the Billie Jean King Sports Complex. Ms. King attended and played tennis at CSULA from 1961 to 1964. Acknowledged as one of the greatest tennis players of all time, Ms. King is also a dedicated champion for social justice and equality. Since 1998, her annual “Billie Jean King and Friends” gala has generated nearly $2 million to support scholarships for CSULA student athletes.
  • The Donald P. Shiley BioScience Center at San Diego State University will serve as a catalyst for life sciences research. Its namesake was an entrepreneurial and innovative engineer who patented four of his creations, including the Bjork-Shiley heart valve, which revolutionized heart surgery in the 1970s. His wife, Darlene V. Shiley, and the Shiley Family Foundation committed $5 million to develop graduate students capable of doing the type of amazing work achieved by Mr. Shiley.
  • Recognizing a $5 million gift from Alexis and Ron L. Fowler, San Diego State University named the Fowler Athletics Center in their honor. Including this latest challenge gift, the couple’s total philanthropic support of SDSU nears $10 million. This donation demonstrates the Fowlers’ commitment to Aztec Athletics’ mission of providing a balanced, high quality education for student athletes and pursuing competitive success against major collegiate competition.
  • The Joan and Art Barron Veterans Center at San Diego State University marked the first seven-figure gift in the California State University system dedicated to supporting student veterans. Arthur R. Barron (’60, ’98) and his wife, Joan, contributed $1 million to support operating expenses for the Veterans Center in perpetuity. The Barron’s initial Troops to College gift inspired others to follow, and $1.4 million has been raised for various veteran’s initiatives.
  • The San José State University Valley Foundation School of Nursing was named in gratitude of The Valley Foundation’s $5 million gift commitment and past donations of over $3.5 million. The gift kickedoff SJSU’s first-ever comprehensive campaign. The investment in the school of nursing will allow the school to increase the quality and quantity of welleducated nurses taught by a top-notch faculty in state-of-the art facilities.
  • A $12 million gift to Sonoma State University named three venues within the Green Music Center: Joan and Sanford I. Weill Hall, Joan and Sanford I. Weill Lawn, and Joan and Sanford I. Weill Commons. The concert hall and surrounding open spaces at the Green Music Center are considered to be the epitome of academic and performing arts excellence not only for the campus but for the surrounding region as well.

2011/12 William R. Hearst/CSU Trustees’ Award for Outstanding Achievement Honorees

Hearst Honorees

Attending the awards ceremony at the September 2011 CSU Board of Trustees meeting:

Front row: Martin Ocampo, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo; Lauren Holland, CSU San Marcos; Jennifer Elias, San José State University; Julie L. Debbs, CSU Sacramento; Andre Yang, CSU Fresno; Carli Lovell, CSU Channel Islands; Frankie Foster, CSU East Bay; Eliza Manuela Ramirez, CSU Fullerton; LaTangia Oliver, CSU Dominguez Hills; Tina L. O’Brien, CSU San Bernardino; and Natalie Hambalek, Sonoma State University

Back row: Joshua Travis Morse, San Diego State University; Stephen Lang, California Maritime Academy; Ryan Grady, CSU Northridge; Betty Abraham, San Francisco State University; Mario Giron- Abrego, CSU Los Angeles; Arienne Arreola, CSU Monterey Bay; Mayra Mendoza, Cal Poly Pomona; Grace Kim, CSU Long Beach; Ashley Marie Cosgrove, CSU Chico; Chryste Lunye Johnson, Humboldt State University; and Linda Fegan, CSU Stanislaus

Not Pictured: Gabriel Garcia, CSU Bakersfield