November 30, 2016

CSUPERB is pleased to announce 2017 Howell-CSUPERB Research Scholar Awards have been made to 11 students from 7 different CSU universities, totaling \$38,500.

CSUPERB partners with the Doris A. Howell Foundation for Women's Health Research (http://www.howellfoundation.org/) to fund promising undergraduate student research projects in topics related to women's health. Together the Howell Foundation and CSUPERB recognize that research experience is critical to recruiting, training and retaining students interested in careers in women's health research. Howell-CSUPERB Scholars show great professional promise academically and in research programs. Each scholar will conduct faculty-mentored research projects during the spring and summer of 2017.

The Howell-CSUPERB Scholars for 2017 are (in alphabetical order):

I. Norhan Alhajjar (Biology, San Diego State University)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Characterization of Vaginal Colonization by Staphylococcus aureus."

Mentor: Kelly Doran, Biology

2. Kim Anh Hoang (Chemistry, California State University, Sacramento)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Steric Effects in the Computational Modeling of Cyclization Reactions of Enediynones."

Mentor: Benjamin Gherman, Chemistry

3. Jennifer Luu (Chemistry & Biochemistry, San Diego State University)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Genetic Analyses of Mouse Repeats Important in Aggressive Colorectal Cancer."

Mentor: Kathleen McGuire, Biology

4. Elizabeth Marquez (Biology, California Polytechnic State University, Pomona)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Effects of Delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol on the Severity of

Candida albicans Vulvovaginal Candidiasis in Immunosuppressed Mice."

Mentor: Nancy Buckley, Biology

5. Susana Najera (Biology, San Diego State University)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Characterization of a Bacterial Two-Component Sensor Kinase." Mentor: Kelly Doran, Biology

6. Grace Prator (Biological Sciences, California State University, Chico)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "miR-375 has opposing roles in hormone secretion with α -cell and β -cell."

Mentor: David Keller, Biological Sciences

7. Layla Ramos (Biological Sciences, California State University, Long Beach)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Androgen regulation of calbindin expression in the developing mouse cerebral cortex and hippocampus."

Mentor: Houng-Wei Tsai, Biological Sciences

8. Puneet Sanghera (Biological Sciences, San José State University)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "The effects of lipopolysaccharide induced inflammation on spinal cord excitability."

Mentor: Katie Wilkinson, Biological Sciences

9. Matthew Slarve (Biology, California Polytechnic State University, Pomona)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "In Vitro Modeling of Bacterial and Fungal Lung Infections in Cystic Fibrosis Patients."

Mentor: Jill Adler-Moore, Biological Sciences

10. Rajan Suasin (Chemistry, California State University, Sacramento)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "The Synthesis and Design of Sulfated Glycodendrimers Against Biofilm Formation."

Mentor: Katherine McReynolds, Chemistry

II. Miguel Tellez (Chemistry & Biochemistry, California State University, Fullerton)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Purification and characterization of a small copper carrier (SCC) from blood plasma - a structural and physiological study."

Mentor: Maria C Linder, Chemistry & Biochemistry