

CSU The California State University

PROGRAM FOR EDUCATION AND RESEARCH IN BIOTECHNOLOGY (CSUPERB)

May 3, 2017

CSUPERB is pleased to announce the 2017 class of Presidents' Commission Scholars. Eleven undergraduates will be carrying out faculty-mentored biotechnology research projects on 8 different CSU campuses this summer.

CSUPERB recognizes that research experiences are critical to engaging and graduating students interested in biotechnology careers. The Presidents' Commission Scholars are supported by a \$6000 scholarship, in addition to \$2000 for the faculty mentor's laboratory.

CSUPERB received 26 applications from 14 CSU universities in response to this year's request for proposals.

The 2017 CSUPERB Presidents' Commission Scholars are (in alphabetical order):

- 1. Kareem Aboulhosn (Freshman, Chemistry, San José State University), "Photoaffinity studies to identify the molecular target of pyocyanin inhibition." Mentor: Dr. Laura Miller Conrad.
- 2. Omar Apolinar (Sophomore, Biochemistry, CSU San Marcos), "Bisphosphorylimides as Organocatalysts for Asymmetric Friedel-Crafts Reactions." Mentor: Dr. Robert lafe.
- 3. Calista Horta (Sophomore, Biochemistry, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo), "Incorporation of Amino Acid Building Blocks into a Unique Type II Polyketide Antibiotic." Mentor: Dr. Katharine Watts.
- 4. Mahsa Madinehei (Sophomore, Cell and Molecular Biology, CSU Dominguez Hills), "Screening natural products for inhibitors of histone demethylases from the crude extracts of Mostuea brunonis Didr." Mentor: Dr. Patrick Still.
- 5. Jeanne-Marie McPherson (Sophomore, Biological Sciences, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo), "Epigenetic analysis of candidate gene promoters in US Chinese immigrants in a longitudinal study on biobehavioral risk factors in diabetes." Mentor: Dr. Sandra Clement.
- 6. Cristina Narvasa (Freshman, Biology, CSU Fullerton), "Investigating the trade-off between Drosophila longevity and immune defense." Mentor: Dr. Parvin Shahrestani.
- 7. Alejandra Palomino (Sophomore, Biochemistry, CSU Fullerton), "Investigating peptidomimetic inhibitors for the botulinum neurotoxin light chain." Mentor: Dr. Nicholas Salzameda.
- 8. Maribel Perez Espinal (Sophomore, Biology (Cellular/Molecular), Humboldt State University), "Development of an mCherry-HEXB reporter HEK293 cell line for Sandhoff disease research using CRISPR gene editing." Mentor: Dr. John Steele.

- 9. Jordan Redden (Sophomore, Biochemistry, CSU Bakersfield), "Synthesis of Small Molecule Inhibitors of Lysyl Oxidase." Mentor: Dr. Danielle Solano.
- 10. **Leela Stevens** (Sophomore, Civil Engineering, CSU Long Beach), "Investigating of foaming bacteria in a full-scale nitrifying and denitrifying activated sludge process." Mentor: Dr. Pitiporn Asvapathanagul.
- 11. Jackie Vo (Sophomore, Chemical Engineering, San José State University), "Exploration of metalloproteinase inhibitor peptide against Anthrax Lethal Factor." Mentor: Dr. Claire Komives.

For more information about the CSUPERB Presidents' Commission Scholars, see the CSUPERB website (<u>https://www2.calstate.edu/impact-of-the-csu/research/csuperb/Pages/grants-and-awards-programs.aspx</u>) or contact the program office (619-594-2822).