April 27, 2018

CSUPERB is pleased to announce 2018 Howell-CSUPERB Research Scholar Awards have been made to 12 students from 7 different CSU universities, totaling \$42,000.

CSUPERB partners with the Doris A. Howell Foundation for Women's Health Research (http://www.howellfoundation.org/) to fund promising undergraduate student research projects in topics related to women's health. Together the Howell Foundation and CSUPERB recognize that research experience is critical to recruiting, training and retaining students interested in careers in women's health research. Howell-CSUPERB Scholars show great professional promise academically and in research programs. Each scholar will conduct faculty-mentored research projects during the spring and summer of 2018.

The Howell-CSUPERB Scholars for 2018 are (in alphabetical order):

## I. Analine Aguayo (Biology, California State University, Northridge)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Premetastatic Niche Cell Responses to Breast Cancer Cells." Mentor: Dr. Jonathan Kelber, Biology

## 2. Micah Feri (Biology and Physiology, California State University, Long Beach)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Progesterone signaling regulating female reproduction is mediated by progesterone receptor, Src kinase and Dopamine receptor (DI) interactions."

Mentor: Dr. Kevin Sinchak, Biological Sciences

#### 3. Selina Gonzales (Biology, California State University, San Marcos)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Hair cortisol during pregnancy, homeostatic dysregulation and risk for gestational diabetes."

Mentor: Dr. Kimberly D'Anna-Hernandez, Psychology

## 4. Stacy Guzman (Biochemistry, California State University, Fullerton)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Elucidating the Effects of Novel Small Molecules on the Wnt/ $\beta$ -catenin Pathway."

Mentor: Dr. Peter de Lijser, Chemistry and Biochemistry

# 5. Kathryn Johnston (Biochemistry, California State University, Bakersfield)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Cell Viability Studies of Breast Cancer Cells Using Lysyl Oxidase Inhibitors"

Mentor: Dr. Karlo Lopez, Chemistry and Biochemistry

#### 6. Elyssa Lawrence (Mechanical Engineering, California State University, Long Beach)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Orthopedic Implant Behavior in Osteoporotic Bones Under Impact."

Mentor: Dr. Daniel Whisler, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

## 7. Maizie Lee (Chemistry, California State University, Fresno)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Curcumin-quercetin hybrid molecules as potential chemotherapeutics for triple negative breast cancer."

Mentor: Dr. Qiao-Hong Chen, Chemistry

# 8. Nicole Lukasko (Microbiology, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Investigation of Antimicrobial Compounds in Umbellularia californica extracts."

Mentor: Dr. Alejandra Yep, Biological Sciences

#### 9. Javier Rodriguez (Aerospace Engienering, California State University, Long Beach)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Electromyographic suit to assess hormone replacement therapy/high-impact physical exercise on skeletal muscles in post-menopausal women."

Mentor: Dr. Emel Demircan, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

#### 10. Bobby Teng (Biology, California State University, Northridge)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Role of Interleukin-6 expression in Maternal gut bacteria and the alternation of mouse offspring brain development."

Mentor: Dr. Lisa Banner, Biology

#### II. Citlayi Villaseñor (Biochemistry, San Diego State University)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Characterizing 2C10: an anti-dsDNA antibody."

Mentor: Dr. Tom Huxford, Chemistry and Biochemistry

#### 12. Grace Yomogida (Biology and Physiology, California State University, Long Beach)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Structural and Functional Analysis of Myeloperoxidase-oxidized Apolipoprotein E3."

Mentor: Dr. Vasanthy Narayanaswami, Chemistry and Biochemistry