December 3, 2019

CSUPERB is pleased to announce 2020 Howell-CSUPERB Research Scholar Awards have been made to 12 students from 8 different CSU universities, totaling \$42,000.

CSUPERB partners with the Doris A. Howell Foundation for Women's Health Research (http://www.howellfoundation.org/) to fund promising undergraduate student research projects in topics related to women's health. Together the Howell Foundation and CSUPERB recognize that research experience is critical to engaging and graduating students interested in careers in women's health. In fact, the great majority (>87%) of Howell-CSUPERB scholars go on to apply successfully for graduate degree programs and industry jobs. Each scholar will conduct faculty-mentored research projects during the spring and summer of 2020.

The Howell-CSUPERB Scholars for 2020 are (in alphabetical order):

 Kyla Anderson (Molecular Cell Biology and Physiology, California State University, Long Beach)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "HDL Nanodiscs as Platforms for Cellular Delivery of Luteolin, an Antioxidant and Anti-inflammatory Agent."

Mentor: Vasanthy Narayanaswami, Chemistry & Biochemistry

Xiangyi Fang (Cell and Molecular Biology, San Francisco State University)
 Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Association between Expression of Telomerase and CXCR7/ACKR3 in Breast Cancer Cells."

Mentor: Nicole Velmeshev, Biology

3. **Mandeep Kaur** (Biology and Chemistry, California State University, Fresno) Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Understanding the Biological Mechanisms behind PM2.5 Induced Oxidative Stress."

Mentor: Laurent Dejean, Chemistry

4. **Anita Kelleher** (Nutrition, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Evaluation of Women & Infants' Mobile Health Unit."

Mentor: Suzanne Phelan, Kinesiology and Public Health

5. **Jude Khatib** (Biochemistry, California State University, Long Beach)
Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "To study the effect of cyclin dependent kinase 5 on survival and migration of HeLa, a cervical cancer cell line."
Mentor: Deepali Bhandari, Chemistry and Biochemistry

 Lauren McMichael (Nutrition, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Assessment of Biomarkers for the

Prediction of Gestational Diabetes Occurrence."

Mentor: Michael La Frano, Food Science and Nutrition

7. **Julian Navarrete** (Biology, San Diego State University)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Assessment of developmental toxicity from

embryonic exposures to the emerging contaminant TCPMOH."

Mentor: Kari Sant, Public Health

8. **Jennifer Nguyen** (Microbiology, California State University, Los Angeles) Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Synergistic effects of pyrvinium pamoate and fluconazole against Candida albicans biofilms."

Mentor: Hyunsook Park, Biological Sciences

9. Tina Nguyen (Biological Sciences, San José State University)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Investigating the role of sirtuin 4 in ovarian function."

iuriction.

Mentor: Frank Huynh, Biological Sciences

10. Kiran Rao (Cellular & Molecular Biology, California State University, Chico)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Comparative Study of

Biomechanosensitive Gene Activity during Embryogenesis of the."

Mentor: Kristen Gorman, Biological Sciences

11. Souvixada Somsacksy (Biology, California State University, Fresno)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Examining Biomarkers in Aggressive

Tumor Types of Thyroid Cancer."

Mentor: Jason Bush, Biology

12. Evelyn Tran (Microbiology, San Diego State University)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Bacteriophages as therapeutic option for antibiotic-resistant Escherichia coli causing sepsis during childbirth."

Mentor: Dwayne Roach, Biology