May 12, 2022

CSUPERB is pleased to announce the class of 2022 Presidents' Commission Scholars. This year 10 undergraduates will be carrying out faculty-mentored biotechnology research projects on 8 different CSU campuses.

CSUPERB recognizes that research experiences are critical to engaging and graduating students interested in biotechnology careers. The focus of this program is to increase the number of lower-division undergraduates who have access to a full-time research experience. The Presidents' Commission Scholars are supported by a \$6,000 scholarship, in addition to \$2,000 in support for the faculty mentor's laboratory.

The 2022 CSUPERB Presidents' Commission Scholars are (in alphabetical order):

1. **Esha Barlinge** (2nd Year, Biology, San Diego State University), "Studies to reveal the genetic architecture of stress tolerance in plants."

Mentor: Elizabeth Waters

2. **Shanthi Dave** (1st Year, B.S. Molecular Biology, San José State University), "Hormonal regulation of human cardiac muscle cell proliferation."

Mentor: Alexander Payumo

- 3. **Antonio Gonzalez** (2nd Year, Animal Science, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo), "Improvement of Product Safety, Quality, and Processing Efficiency of Beef and Pork stakes using an Innovative-Cutting Technology."

 Mentor: Ike Kang
- 4. **Samuel Groysman** (2nd Year, Biochemistry, California State University, Los Angeles), "Development of non-contact plasmonic electrochemical microscopy for single vesicle sensing."

Mentor: Yixian Wang

- 5. **Derrick Le** (2nd Year, Biotechnology, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona), "Testing social housing conditions as a modulator of food anticipatory activity in mice." Mentor: Andrew Steele
- 6. **Mehek Parghi** (1st Year, Biological Science, Molecular Biology, San José State University), "Role of Beta Adrenergic Receptors in Regulating Muscle Proprioceptors." Mentor: Katherine Wilkinson
- 7. **Christian Quintero** (2nd Year, Biology, Sonoma State University,), "Chromosome organization of Bloom's Syndrome cells."

Mentor: Lisa Hua

8. **Jessica Sklar** (2nd Year, Ecology and Environmental Biology, California State University, Dominguez Hills), "Using zebrafish as a model system to study the effects of microplastic ingestion on fecal microbiomes."

Mentor: Fang Wang

9. **Jenna Surdzial** (2nd Year, Chemistry, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona), "Novel Synthesis of Bisbenzylisoquinoline alkaloid (BBIQ) Cycleanine using Pictet-Spengler Reaction."

Mentor: Thomas Osberger

10. **Wendy Villeda** (2nd Year, Biological Science, California State University, Fullerton), "How lipid changes alter the cell surface localization of a cytosolic protein."

Mentor: Nikolas Nikolaidis

11. **Stephanie Sanchez** (2nd Year, Biological Sciences, California State University, East Bay), "Evaluation of pain relief produced by Cannabis-related terpenes."

Mentor: Ram Kandasamy

12. **Luke Tomaneng** (2nd Year, Biology, Cellular & Molecular, California State University, Northridge), "Identifying the RAI14-Dependent Single-Cell Proteome/Phosphoproteome in Pancreatic Cancer using CycIF."

Mentor: Jonathan Kelber

13. **Tung Tran** (2nd Year, Mechanical Engineering, California State University, Long Beach), "Study of Self-Healing Concrete for Resilient Infrastructures."

Mentor: Andrea Calabrese

For more information about this program, see the program portfolio at the CSUPERB website (https://www2.calstate.edu/impact-of-the-csu/research/csuperb/Pages/grants-and-awards-programs.aspx) or contact Bianca Mothè (Interim Executive Director, CSUPERB; bmothe@csusm.edu). All CSUPERB grants and awards can be searched at the program's database: http://csuperb.org/grants/database/. Program impacts, including student outcomes and annual reports, can be found at the program dashboard: https://csuperb.org/grants/csuperb-data-dashboard/.