



February 21, 2023

CSUPERB is pleased to announce 2023 Howell-CSUPERB Research Scholar Awards have been made to 13 students from 8 different CSU universities, totaling \$45,500

CSUPERB partners with the Doris A. Howell Foundation for Women's Health Research (http://www.howellfoundation.org/) to fund promising undergraduate student research projects in topics related to women's health. Together the Howell Foundation and CSUPERB recognize that research experience is critical to engaging and graduating students interested in careers in women's health. In fact, the great majority (>87%) of Howell-CSUPERB scholars go on to apply successfully for graduate degree programs and industry jobs. Each scholar will conduct faculty-mentored research projects during the spring and summer of 2023.

The Howell-CSUPERB Scholars for 2023 are (in alphabetical order):

1. **Danielle Beerfas** (Biochemistry, San Diego State University)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Exploring the Impact of Oral Contraceptives on the Gut Microbiome"

Mentor: Christopher Harrison, Chemistry and Biochemistry

2. **Vanessa Estrada** (Biochemistry, California State University, Northridge)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Investigating metformin scavenging of reactive dicarbonyls"

Mentor: Daniel Tamae, Chemistry & Biochemistry

3. **Melissa Fernandez** (Biological Science, California State University, Fullerton) Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Immune defense in Drosophila is affected by host evolutionary history and host-associated microbiota"

Mentor: Parvin Shahrestani, Biological Science

4. **Sai Manasa Gadepalli** (Computer Science, San José State University)
Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Comparative transcriptomic analysis of
Bisphenol A (BPA) variants exposure in estrogen- receptor positive breast cancer
cells"

Mentor: Wendy Lee, Computer Science





5. Roxana Gonzalez (Biochemistry, California State University, Fresno)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Synthesis and Antiproliferative Evaluation of Licochalcone A Analogs in Triple Negative Breast Cancer Models"

Mentor: Qiao-Hong Chen, Chemistry and Biochemistry

6. **Sopo Jalalishvili** (Biochemistry, San Diego State University)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Comparative structural analysis of inducible transcription factor NF-κB for the study of cervical cancer"

Mentor: Tom Huxford, Chemistry & Biochemistry

7. **Brook Milam** (Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences (Dual BS degree), California State University, Sacramento)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Synthesis of Ether Polymers for use in HIV

Prophylactics"

Mentor: Katherine McReynolds, Chemistry

8. Jasmine Nguyen (Biochemistry, California State University, Long Beach)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Structural and Functional Analysis of Guinea Pig Apolipoprotein and Human Apolipoprotein E4 to Understand Amyloidogenesis in Alzheimer's Disease"

Mentor: Vasanthy Narayanaswami, Chemistry and Biochemistry

9. **Vanessa Sanchez** (Biology, California State University, Sonoma)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Using Trisomy 21 Down Syndrome cells to understand chromosome organization"

Mentor: Lisa Hua, Biology

10. Ingrid Sebor (Biochemistry, San Diego State University)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Structure of the Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor (EGFR) kinase domain in complex with a novel small molecule tyrosine kinase inhibitor"

Mentor: Tom Huxford, Chemistry & Biochemistry

11. **Rachel Ann Soriano** (Biological Sciences, Systems Physiology, San José State University)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Increased intracellular pH promotes cell death in the developing Drosophila eye"

Mentor: Bree Grillo-Hill, Biological Sciences





- 12. **Kathy Thien** (Biological Science, California State University, Fullerton)
 Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Defining the microbiota's response to and influence on immune defense in female and male Drosophila populations"
 Mentor: Parvin Shahrestani, Biological Science
- 13. **Tianna Young** (B.S. Marine Biology, San José State University)
 Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Developing adenoviral-based tools to determine the role of Interferon regulatory factor 1 (Irf1) in mammalian heart muscle proliferation"

Mentor: Alexander Payumo, Biological Sciences