June 12, 2018

CSUPERB is pleased to announce the 2018 class of Presidents' Commission Scholars. Twelve undergraduates will be carrying out faculty-mentored biotechnology research projects on 7 different CSU campuses this summer.

CSUPERB recognizes that research experiences are critical to engaging and graduating students interested in biotechnology careers. The Presidents' Commission Scholars are supported by a \$6,000 scholarship, in addition to \$2,000 for the faculty mentor's laboratory.

CSUPERB received 38 applications from 15 CSU universities in response to this year's request for proposals.

The 2018 CSUPERB Presidents' Commission Scholars are (in alphabetical order):

1. **Kendall Block** (2nd Year, Chemistry and Biochemistry, CSU Chico), "Taking a page from nature's playbook: using the chemistry of co-enzyme B12 and similar cobalt complexes for the addition of carbon radicals to imines."

Mentor: Daniel Everson

2. **Sophia Carpinelli** (1st Year, Biology, CSU San Marcos), "Unraveling the roles of class III glutaredoxins in plant growth regulation."

Mentor: Matthew Escobar

3. **Codey Huang** (2nd Year, Biology, San José State University), "The Assessment of Valproic Acid to Enhance Gene Targeting Efficiency."

Mentor: Jennifer Johnston

4. **Bagieng Keophimphone** (2nd Year, Chemistry, CSU Fresno), "Synthesis and evaluation of the scope of cyclization of 2-alkynylthioanisoles to benzo[b]thiophenes catalyzed by gold(I)-N-heterocyclic carbene complexes."

Mentor: Hubert Muchalski

5. **Michelle Leclere** (1st Year, Mechanical Engineering, Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo), "Assessing the Effects of Fluid Flow on Human Capillary Formation."

Mentor: Christopher Heylman

6. **Shaina Nguyen** (1st Year, Biochemistry, CSU Fullerton), "Discovery of Small Molecule Inhibitors as Potential Treatment for Parasitic Chagas Disease."

Mentor: Nicholas Salzameda

7. **Jennifer Phan** (2nd Year, Biochemistry, CSU Fresno), "Synthesis and Enzymatic Resolution of Racemic Hydnocarpin D as Prostate Cancer Chemotherapeutics."

Mentor: Qiao-Hong Chen

8. **Christian Ramirez** (2nd Year, Mechanical Engineering, San Diego State University), "Body Worn Microphone Network For Measuring Ventilation Patterns."

Mentor: Shawn O'Connor

9. **Vanessa Saccomanno** (2nd Year, Biology, CSU Fullerton), "Characterization of the interaction between a 70-kDa heat shock protein, HspA1A, and phosphatidylinositol 4-phosphate in stressed human cells."

Mentor: Nikolas Nikolaidis

10. **Sukhjiwan Singh** (2nd Year, Biomedical Engineering, San José State University), "Validation and Characterization of CRISPR guide RNAs for the treatment of Hemophilia A." Mentor: Jennifer Johnston

11. **Skylar Tomasetti** (1st Year, Biology, CSU Chico), "Genetic Control of Hematopoietic Progenitor Cell Generation and Differentiation."

Mentor: David Stachura

12. **Harnoor Virk** (2nd Year, Biology, San José State University), "Roles for pHi Regulation of Cell Cycle Dynamics."

Mentor: Bree Grillo-Hill

For more information about the CSUPERB Presidents' Commission Scholars, see the CSUPERB website (https://www2.calstate.edu/impact-of-the-csu/research/csuperb) or contact the program office (619-594-2822).