January 26, 2016

CSUPERB is pleased to announce 2016 Howell-CSUPERB Research Scholar Awards have been made to 12 students from 9 different CSU universities, totaling \$42,000. CSUPERB received 28 applications from students at 10 different CSU campuses.

CSUPERB partners with the Doris A. Howell Foundation for Women's Health Research (http://www.howellfoundation.org/) to fund promising undergraduate student research projects in topics related to women's health. Together the Howell Foundation and CSUPERB recognize that research experience is critical to recruiting, training and retaining students interested in careers in women's health research. Howell-CSUPERB Scholars show great professional promise academically and in research programs. Each scholar will conduct faculty-mentored research projects during the spring and summer of 2016.

The Howell-CSUPERB Scholars for 2016 are (in alphabetical order):

I. Alyssa Bowlsby (Biology, California State University, Chico)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Formation of Dimeric Antagonists as a Novel Treatment for Chronic Myeloid Leukemia."

Mentor: Carolynn Arpin, Chemistry & Biochemistry

2. Sima Chokr (Biology, California State University, Long Beach)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "The OFQ-ORL-I system mediates Tamoxifen and ICI-182, 780 facilitation of lordosis via GPER."

Mentor: Kevin Sinchak, Biology

3. Karina Hernandez (Biology, California State University, Fresno)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "The effect of bisphosphonate drugs on metastatic breast cancer in a 3D culture model."

Mentor: Jason Bush, Biology

4. Sa La Kim (Biology, California State University, Northridge)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "The Role of ITGA1 in Pancreatic Cancer."

Mentor: Jonathan Kelber, Biology

5. Kelly Leavitt (Biological Sciences, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Effects of hormonal contraceptive use on the human gut microbiome and specifically Escherichia coli: A pilot study."

Mentor: Alejandra Yep, Biological Sciences

6. Karl Liboro (Biology, California State University, Los Angeles)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Effect of Bacteriocin-like peptide, pentocin TV35b, from Lactobacillus pentosus on Candida albicans biofilm formation."

Mentor: Hyunsook Park, Biology

7. Brandon Strong (Biological Sciences, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Point-of-Care Diagnostic Device for the Quantitative Analysis of Human Estradiol."

Mentor: Nathaniel Martinez, Biological Sciences

8. Jason Thomas (Biology, California State University, Fresno)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "The role of bacilithiol and thiol peroxidase against oxidative stress in Staphylococcus aureus."

Mentor: Mamta Rawat, Biology

9. Alan Tran (Biological Sciences, San José State University)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "An Investigation into the Effects of Sensory Activity on Neural Circuits."

Mentor: Miri VanHoven, Biological Sciences

10. Cory Vierra (Chemistry, California State University, Sacramento)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Synthesis and Optimization of Hexavalent Glycodendrimers as Anti-HIV Agents."

Mentor: Katherine McReynolds, Chemistry

II. Brandy White (Chemistry, California State University, Fresno)

 $Award: \$3,\!500 \ for \ the \ proposal \ titled \ ``Small \ Molecule \ Binding \ Sites \ Explored \ in \ Variable \ Heavy \ Chain$

Antibodies."

Mentor: Cory Brooks, Chemistry

12. Kevin White (Biology, San Diego State University)

Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "An in vitro Investigation on Proliferation, Survival, and

Differential Potential of CardioClusters."

Mentor: Mark Sussman, Biology