February 9, 2024

CSUBIOTECH is pleased to announce 2024 Howell-CSUBIOTECH Research Scholar Awards have been made to 12 students from 8 different CSU universities, totaling \$42,000.

CSUBIOTECH partners with the <u>Doris A. Howell Foundation for Women's Health</u> <u>Research</u> (http://www.howellfoundation.org/) to fund promising undergraduate student research projects in topics related to women's health. Together the Howell Foundation and CSUBIOTECH recognize that research experience is critical to engaging and graduating students interested in careers in women's health. In fact, the great majority (>87%) of Howell-CSUBIOTECH scholars go on to apply successfully for graduate degree programs and industry jobs. Each scholar will conduct faculty-mentored research projects during the spring and summer of 2024.

The Howell-CSUBIOTECH Scholars for 2024 are (in alphabetical order):

- Ximena Corona (Biology, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona) Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Disturbing Degranulation in Neutrophil-Like Cells and Investigating how Degranulation Deficiency Impacts Trogocytic Killing" Mentor: Frances Mercer, Biological Sciences
- Gurmannat Chalotra (Biochemistry, California State University, Fresno) Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Dehydroabietylamine Derivatives as Potential Treatment for Triple Negative Breast Cancer" Mentor: Qiao-Hong Chen, Chemistry and Biochemistry
- Siena Gunari (Speech Pathology and Audiology, California State University, East Bay)
 Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Effects of Simultaneous Inhibition of Fatty Acid

Amide Hydrolase and Soluble Epoxide Hydrolase on Migraine Pain in Rats" Mentor: Ram Kandasamy, Psychology

 Audrey Tse (Chemistry, California State University, Long Beach) Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Structure-Function Analysis of Apolipoprotein AI to Understand Cholesterol Transport in Cardiovascular Disease" Mentor: Vasanthy Narayanaswami, Chemistry and Biochemistry

- Rhiannon Red Bird (Cellular/ Molecular Biology, California State Polytechnic University, Humboldt) Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Development of Endometrial Organoids for the Study of Endometriosis" Mentor: Brigitte Blackman, Biology
- Bryan Kang (Molecular Cell Biology and Physiology, California State University, Long Beach)
 Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Determination of the Quaternary Structure of Human Apolipoprotein A-I at Physiological Relevant Concentrations" Mentor: Paul Weers, Chemistry and Biochemistry
- Emily Prince (Biological Sciences, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo) Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Targeting iron acquisition: a novel approach to UTI treatment?" Mentor: Alejandra Yep-Rodriguez, Biological Sciences
- Isabella Lamont (Biological Sciences, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo) Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Developing a point of care diagnostic tool for bacterial and fungal infections." Mentor: Jean Davidson, Biological Sciences
- Reese Wang (Biology, California State University, Los Angeles) Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Customized Bioprinting of Three Dimensional Microbial Biofilm to Establish a Novel Vaginal Infection Model" Mentor: Hyunsook Park, Biological Sciences
- Ariana Leung (Biology, Molecular Biology, San José State University) Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Determining the role of the cotranscriptional repressor Hairless (Hr) in heart muscle cell proliferation" Mentor: Alexander Payumo, Biological Sciences
- Sevana Wassilian (Biochemistry, California State University, Fresno) Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Employing Generative Artificial Intelligence to Design Novel Proteins Targeting Ovarian Cancer Marker MUC16"



Mentor: Cory Brooks, Chemistry and Biochemistry

 James Tower (Biological Sciences/Molecular Biology, San José State University) Award: \$3,500 for the proposal titled "Testing positive autophagic markers in the GMR>Dnhe2 developing Drosophila eye" Mentor: Bree Grillo-Hill, Biological Sciences